Can people find my public apps somehow?

Hello, I’m new to the service and very exited, I want to practice producing apps and learn.
but I don’t want somebody to steal my future idea while i try to develop it…

Where are the public apps shown to people? Can people can find my public apps somehow?

Thanks!
Cesare

It become public if any robot scan it, and publish it, or you share your link here in the forum. Just use username password on your first page, until the app is finished.

Development versions of an app are not indexed by default, see robots.txt in your Settings/SE Settings page.

I tend to back up publicly shared apps to not-easily-guessable names so they are fairly secure.

Ok thank you… the @JohnM advice to add password-username on first page doesn’t make much sense to me because people can access and edit public apps anyway, right @NigelG ?

I read his question to infer, “Who can find, and clone, my open source (public on Bubble) apps”?

1 Like

You right, anyone after with the link, can modify and see you app. Not fun…

1 Like

Where are the public apps shown to people?

They aren’t unless you share the link.Development apps are not indexed by search engines.

Can people can find my public apps somehow?

They can’t unless you share the link.

If people can spend time brute forcing the name on my app to get the link, they got to much free time for sure :0

1 Like

When you look at the address of your app it is a subdomain of the main top level domain bubbleapps.io

If you perform a reverse DNS lookup on this domain, it only shows 1 application running here, and no idea why that one even shows up! So apart from the 1 domain, it is correctly blocking dns zone transfers.

However, it wouldn’t take much to setup and perform a webscrape and iterate each possible sub-domain to find out what is there. I just tried putting in a few random domains, and found something on each one at the /version-test/. Try it, a, b, demo, test, bubble