Forum Academy Marketplace Showcase Pricing Features

Database Structure - is it just me or?…

Hi bubblers (love saying that), your daily noob here

So - here it is…I don’t think it’s bubble, I think it’s me.

I am working on a trip planning/management application. In each of these boxes information relative to the trip is stored. For example on day 1, we will have the activities that the user has planned for those days).

Easy, right? So here’s the problem…

The user should be able to transition between different trips that they may be planning and the information within the tiles should change relative to the trip that they have selected (are inside).

———

How have I set it up?

• The user lands on this page and all the tiles are blank - ready to be filled in. (Some tiles are edited on the outside such as the calendar dates, when a user clicks on a day - a pop up group appears with the information)

What should happen?

• After editing when the user is ready she can hit save using the button below.
  • When they hit save it is saved in a DB Type named “Trips”. In this one data type, all the data input by the user can and should be stored relative to the trip.

My challenge is getting the information that is saved correctly so that I can call it back out later when the user reopens a certain trip. As seen in the section on the left.

The user will also need to be able to edit this trip - so I made an update button for this.

This saving system is not repeat group friendly.

I cannot call the data correctly. This is the page loaded in preview, the RG displays blank information for each activity and also shows all the activities in the database, not just the trip the user is in.

Screenshot 2021-09-30 at 09.53.39

Here’s how I am calling it in the RG.

Here is a screenshot of the data base with some random testing data. (I haven’t modified it to show all the elements).

———

How do I get this to tie altogether neatly?

Ask me questions if anything is unclear!