How to build editable input form

Hi there

I’m new to bubble. I have a question seems like very basic however I can’t find answers anywhere including purchased online bubble course so I’m posting here in the community to see if I can get some help.

Here is the workflow of what I’m trying to create:

An input form with “submit” button, once user fills all information and click “submit”, with data being saved in the database, the button text changes from “submit” to “update”. The input fields in the same page have been filled with information filled from previous step and are editable, once user made edits and click on “update”, they will overwrite existing information in the database.

My question is:

Can this workflow be done on one page? (Save New Data and Update Existing Data) or do I need two pages, and how?

Any suggestions will be helpful, thanks!

Ann

1 Like

Hi Ann :slight_smile: You can do this in the same inputs if you’d like, when making changes to the Current User. Let’s say you want to change the button from ‘Submit’ to ‘Update’ after the person has submitted their information for these three fields: First Name, Last Name and Handle. So to change the wording from ‘Submit’ to ‘Update’ on the button, you could create a conditional statement on the button such as 'When Current User’s First Name isn’t empty AND Current User’s Last Name isn’t empty AND Current User’s Handle isn’t empty", property to change: “Text”, and change the word from ‘Submit’ to ‘Update’. Then also make sure you check the boxes ‘this input can’t be empty’ for each of the input elements. If the workflow is originally ‘Make Changes to a Thing’ Thing to Change: Current User, fields to change: First name, Last name, and Handle – then everything should be the same when you change the text from Submit to Update. :slight_smile: