Limit checkbox selection to 1

Hello all,

First of all I am a beginner and not very familiar to programming but trying my best to improve, so please be forgiving for my lack of knowledge.

Here is my problem:
I am trying to make the user answer to a yes/no question using checkboxes. However, I can’t figure out how to limit his choice to a single answer (Yes or No). Moreover, i’d like the following condition: If “yes” is selected and “no” is pressed then the “yes” checkbox becomes unchecked (but still “checkable”).
Not sure if I made myself clear…
Do you have any tutorial to share for this “easy” problem or solution to suggest?

Any help is welcomed. Thank you

PS: I know Radiobuttons exist, however I’m not satisfied by their design and conditional limits in terms of layout (Maybe there are ways to modifiy it ?).

1 Like

Hey,

Welcome to bubble. There are many ways to do that. It really depends on how you are set up. One way is using custom states. Especially if you aren’t saving the data yet.

Check this link out. Let me know if that helps.

Thanks, @J805… I’m sure @alignr will find that useful, however, I’m not sure that I demonstrated this type of use.

@alignr asks a good question, which I would phrase as: Let us say that I have n checkboxes on a page that are “mutually exclusive as a group”. Only one can can be checked at a time. If one is selected, all others must be set to off/unchecked."

This is actually a pain in the butt to do in the way that Bubble would typically require us to do it. But I have an alternative idea. My question for the original poster:

@alignr: In your design, can your checkboxes be easily grouped in a group? For example, can they be displayed like this…

… or would they be scattered all around the page?