Native app layers

Hey,

I am new to Bubble so please bare with me.

I am trying to use the native app function. After lots of hits and misses, I have successfully managed to integrate the first 5 pages of the UI into a hide/show commands in the workflow under the Index tab. However, the app is starting to be more and more complicated, and I can’t see my self successfully integrating the pages and making it to work only by showing/hiding content on the Index screen.

Am I missing something? Is there a better way to structure UX with the native app without using the go to page function?

Thanks in advance.

Use custom states to toggle visibility, otherwise every time you show something you’ll have to hide everything else and it becomes a silly cumbersome process.

1 Like

@1danielbaker Great, thank you. Do you have a link to a guide on how to do this? Is it possible to toggle custom states with swiping left/right?

I have currently 5 group of pictures that I need to show when the user swipe left/right. Group B is under Group A. I set a custom state in the condition tab that when Group A is pressed Group B will appear. I have run it as a native app in the Bubble app on the iPhone, but without success, when I press Group A noting happens. Any ideas?

Do I need that all groups will be on the same index page? Is this the only way to do this? I have many pages and groups that I need to toggle visibility with, and it will be really complicated eventually.

Unfortunately, there isn’t a good (free) tutorial on custom states that I’ve seen in the documents. It is definitely needed.

The good news is there is the Freebie Mobile template that you can use on a sample app to better understand the concepts. Grab the template and take a look at the workflow. You’ll see how the custom state is used to change a value and show and hide things based on that.

3 Likes

@jasonwojo Thank you. How do I set a custom state that will show/hide my groups described above?