Not sure how to set up user host/attend event

As with all things, my project is getting harder as I get into it.

Basically I have a “user” type, and an “event” type. The user can do two things:

1. view events and attend them. The list of events he intends on attending/attended gets stored
  2. create his own event. Th list of events he created get stored

So one of the fields of a User is a multiline “Event attended” and another one is a multiline list of “Events hosted”

OK, that seems straight forward.

Now here is where I get a little lost… (I’m really new at this)

I have a button that says “create a new event” and it goes to a new page sending the user to that page.

How does a new event get made? I want the groups on that page to refer to this new event to autobind the inputs.
This is what I thought to do

(sorry about the red marks, its just the name of the app)

When the user hits “submit event” how does the new event get added to the top of the users list of events hosted?

This is what I tried.

I have low confidence I have done this right. But the final question is:

Do I need to keep a list of events? Later when the user wants to search for some events in his area, how do I search and present all the available events, if all the events are kept with other users? Or do I need to keep a master Event list?

The event has a user field, and the user has a field of a list of events…is there weird looping there or something?

I’m not sure how to set this up best

If “event” is a table in the database, and you want to create a new entry, then use the “create new thing” action. The thing to create is an “event” and you fill the fields of the table with the inputs from the page (title of the event, location, max attendance, whatever).

If you want to modify an existing event, then you use the “change a thing” action.