Processing a JSON Document in a Backend Workflow

Hi there,

I’m pretty new to Bubble and I’ve already spent a lot of time figuring out this: I want to automatically save JSON-data from an API-Call to my bubble-database.
My Json-Data looks something like this:

{“TotalHits”:9048,“Documents”:[{“Title”:“Example Title”, “Url”:“http://forum.bubble.io/”, “Date”:“2022-09-26T18:55:08.8350000Z”}, {“Title”:“Example Title2”, “Url”:“http://forum.bubble.io/”, “Date”:“2022-08-26T18:55:08.8350000Z”}]}

I’m interested in each entry of the Documents (Title, Url and Date for each Document)
My API-Call is named GetDocsOnLoad and is set to Data.
I’ve created a new Datatype with a field “Documents” with the suggested type “GetDocsOnLoad Documents”:

My Backend-Workflow looks like this:

Then, in this backend-workflow, I want to “Create a new Thing” in order to fill my DocData-Table:

But here’s the issue: how can I achive to save the whole JSON to my database?
As you can see, it is always displayed in red, and nothing seems to help.
I’ve already tried to make an extra field in my “DocData” for each attribute of the JSON-File (Title, Url, Date) or to mark this field as a list, but none of this worked.

So my question is: how can I process and save the whole JSON file to my Database?

Thanks in Advance :slight_smile:

First question is why to save it as text? (if you want to save it as file or text, change your API Call to “text” or “file” type. You will be able to save it as text or file depending of the field you want to use)
But I’m not sure why you want to save it like that in your DB and how you will use it. So now sure this is the best option

What I think is that you want to save the Data of the JSON (not the json itself) into field of your DB.
The first thing to know is that, when you set API Call to be “Data” type, Bubble will create a “Thing” of the API Call type. You can save this in a field that have the type of API Call directly