[Solved] Auto-binding for a Drop-down doesn't show the field I want to modify

Hi everybody,

First post here. I’m new to bubble, but until now I’ve been able to find my way around everything I needed. But now I’ve hit an obstacle and it seems the topic has been posted here a couple of times without a solution:

Trouble Autobinding dropdown field (explanation with video)
Drop down dynamic choices can't select field to auto bind

To summarise the problem and clarify a few things:
I want to allow my user to edit a field by modifying a Data point that is fed with a Drop-down (made of an Option Set) with auto-binding. However, the “Field to modify” only shows the option to create a new field, instead of showing me the fields of the Data Type I want to modify. When I choose that option and create a new field, I can see it showing up in that Data Type, but my objective is to modify an existing one instead of creating a new one.

Thank you in advance for your responses :slight_smile:

Could you post screenshots of your data types and your dropdown configuration?

My hunches would be:

1. Privacy rules (but I guess you already covered that since you linked to a thread with that same issue.)

2. Does the User data actually have the right field?

3. Wrong input type? Are you using multi select dropdown?
    In the video you linked to, I see the person with the question seems to be using the multi-select dropdown. The multi-select dropdown gives you a list of stuff. Even if you select maximum number of items is 1, you still get a list. You could the user’s data type to accept a list of things instead of just 1 thing that that should autobind properly.

Hi Rico,

Thank you for your comment. Here are the screenshots:
Data types:

Dropdown config: