Trying to populate database with tweets, wanting to use a loop like function

I am brand new to bubble and find it amazing. There are so many things I can do that I’d never be able to do otherwise, but when it comes to replicating certain things I can easily do in C++ or PHP, I am stumped.

I hope this hasn’t been asked before, I have searched forum several times to no avail.

Essentially, what I am trying to do, is grab 100 twitter users last 100 tweets (10k total). In order to get the data in, nice and clean, I have created a data type, “tweet,” which contains all the pertinent info, namely its text, created date, and fav count. The problem I’m running into is that I can do this, it’s just really not pretty. I am using a data type with one variable (a number) to increment for each tweet’s item# (this is jargon for the twitter API, but it’s just saying how far down it is along a user’s timeline, item 1 being their most recent tweet), which allows me to iterate through all 100 tweets for a user by copying and pasting 2 workflow commands, one that populates the tweet, and one that adds 1 to the variable (akin to a varName++ in C++).

Doing this with one workflow would require 300 or so steps. I find myself wondering if there’s a better, prettier way.

I have also tried creating a loop using 2 “Custom events,” but Bubble won’t seem to run them when I do this.

Thanks for your help, and let me know if you need any clarification!

The creators mentioned that it’s intentionally difficult to do loops, as all the apps are on a shared infrastructure. One poorly done loop could negatively impact all the other running apps, so there isn’t a clear way to do this at the present point in time. I would reach out to support directly for their suggestions, but I remember reading this not too long ago. I’d love to be corrected here!

1 Like