Unique Username

I have an app where in people log in through their FB account. From the login page they are taken to the page where they are required to form a username . I want to ensure that each and every user has a unique username. And if someone enters an existing username there should be a popup saying username exist. Please Help

1 Like

You need to create a username list in your database. When the user enters a username, you would check if that name is on the list already. If it is, you return an error. If it is not, you would let them proceed and then add it to the list.

4 Likes

Can you explain a little further as I am new to bubble. How does the database work and should I create a list for username. Please help

I do it this way

Well, Raymond can you explain this whole thing. I am new to bubble and it’s pretty difficult for me to understand how things work here.

Sure. Here is another example that I’m using in a business directory for a client.

“This company already exists” is a text element that is not visible on page load & shows when a condition is mete

This is the condition

and this is in the workflow for the save button

Play around with a few ideas, make a few mistakes and try until you get it right. That way you will remember it next time.

Hope this helps

so in your example “Companys” is a list ? And what is “Companys’s Registered Name” ?
And why are we saying that count>0 ?

Company is a type (data table) in the data base.
Registered name is the legally registered name of the company and a it is a text field within the Company data base.

We are saying the count >0 so that the text field will show hen the count is bigger than 0. I.o.w. the text field field will show to give a warning to the user

On the button we do the condition so that it will not save the data if it is not unique.

I did an example in the forum app for you Forum_app2 | Bubble Editor

It’s a basic example. There is a lot that can be added on to this