Add new fields... how to do?

Hello,

I have a kind of field which is composed of 2 things : each value has to be chosen inside a select.

The user will then choose first value from 1st select and second value from 2nd select.

But then he has to be able to add new values, which means new “pairs”.

I need to display a “Add new values” button, and each time the user clicks on it, he must have a new line with the 2 selects.

I’m not sure how I can do that… I was thinking of repeating groups but I’m completely newbie with Bubble and don’t know how to do that…

Could you please help me ?

Thanks a lot !

1 Like

I think watching some videos on database design would help - look for posts by @cmarchan - he often has some good lists of links for understanding DB design.

Once you understand how to store this in the DB - it will become clear how it works on the UI.

1 Like

DB design is not an issue. I’m a developer, I know how I would do it in PHP / jQuery.
But i have no clue how to do it with Bubble.
I don’t know how DB design can help me figure it out…

I’m sure you’ll figure it out then :wink: that Bubble is a DB based application for persistent storage and custom states for temporary storage. And you can put conditionals to test those states pretty much everywhere.

Sorry I didn’t mean to under-estimate your skills and experience! It really helps to be a developer sometimes with Bubble, but you have to figure out the Bubble way of doing things.

No Lindsay, don’t worry, it’s ok :slight_smile: I didn’t mean to be rude.
What I mean is : my issue is not related to how i will store the data.
But how i can handle this “add new pair” button.

When the user clicks on it, it has to display 2 selects, each time.
This is this fact of displaying each time these 2 selects that is not pretty clear for me.

But I think I will put the selects inside a group, with a delete button too.
This group will be hidden on page load.