Conditional dropdowns

Hi, I’m new to bubble and I’m having some issues understanding the database.
I have 2 dropdowns that reference the same data group.

I have 2 dropdowns that successfully search the data group, here is the header and some sample data.

Product | Interval | Type

Grass | 1 week | subscription
Grass | 2 weeks | subscription
Starter Kit White | one-off | product
Starter Kit Black | one-off | product

If someone selects grass in the first dropdown, the second dropdown will show 1 week and 2 weeks in the dropdown (I’ve successfully done this)

BUT

I want to be able to hide the second dropdown if the “Type” is not “subscription”
I haven’t been able to workout how I can determine the visibility of the second dropdown by relating back to the database based on a field related to the first choice dropdown without me having to tell the second dropdown to hide if the first dropdown contains “starter kit”. This works but I have a lot more data and want he visibility to be based on a related field in the same row of the data.

You can reference to the type of the selection i.e first dropdown products’ type is “product” which is more general than referring to product name which is specific

The correct way to do this not through the database, it is through the use of conditionals on the drop down element itself as you seem to be aware.

Your conditional should ready something like “when dropdown #1 value-subscription is Yes”

If you have not set up your database correctly then it won’t work. Your database should have a datatype with a datafield of subscription Yes/NO…

Hi koechamos51 and boston85719,

Thanks, both for your replies, I really appreciate it.
I totally understand what both of you are saying and I know that’s what I need to achieve but I just don’t see the option to say that the “type” = “product” or refer to another value in the dropdown 1.

Maybe I’m missing something…see attached

Morgan