COVID-19 Free Legal Clinic Web App

Hey all,

I wanted to share a simple web app I built for lawyers to host virtual free legal clinics during COVID-19. By day I’m a practicing attorney and by night I’m a Bubbler. When the order to stay home was issued in my state (Washington), all free legal clinics that my firm volunteered at were cancelled. I quickly threw together a simple sign-up form where people with legal issues can sign up for a free phone call with an attorney. Attorneys who sign up can select which people they want to advise in the attorney dashboard. During the clinic, a member of my law firm’s staff will dial in participants via VOIP conference call. To me this is a great use-case of Bubble, because something like this could not have been possible if we had to find, pay, and wait for a traditional developer to build a traditional site just for this one function during this short amount of time.

We’ve already had people signing up to speak to an attorney at lawchat.bubbleapps.io. These are screenshots of the development version with fake data to protect privacy.

3 Likes

Nice! Although, is HIPAA compliance not a concern here?

It’s not a concern for a couple of reasons. First, this is a legal clinic, not a medical clinic. The attorneys are offering legal guidance. So it’s unlikely that someone would transmit information that could fall under the type of healthcare information that HIPAA aims to protect. Second, and perhaps more importantly, neither this website or any of the participating attorneys are “Covered Entities” subject to HIPAA. HIPAA applies to Health Plans, Health Care Clearinghouses, Health Care Providers, or a “Business Associate” of one of those three. A website that is essentially a scheduling app for a free legal advice clinic doesn’t fall under any of those categories.

1 Like