How to structure the all-important database

I’m struggling badly to link up elements & content to data in my app (I’m a newbie) and need advice on what DATA TYPES I should have in the database, which is possibly where I’m going wrong.

The app has three main pages:

1. “Question page” - where users are asked questions, which there are four different “types” of
  2. “Answer page” - that show all the answers submitted by users to a particular question, and are ranked according to how many users give the same answer
  3. “A user’s store of answers page” - that show all the answers submitted to questions by a single user

I’m thinking therefore that I should have at least two data types, 1) User and 2) Question.

But do I need more data types?

The three different pages all need to link up to one another for the app to work. Hopefully the image below is self-explanatory.

Thank you!

@martin.boronte

Question
Title (text)
Gifts (list of gifts)

Gift
Title (text)

Answer
Gift (gift)
Question (question)
User that answers (user)

1 Like

Hi martin,

Firstly i want to refer to you a great blog written by airdev on how to structure your database because it is a very important concept you should know in process of creating your app and growing it.

1.) Structure the database - Bubble Development Best Practices Guide

Secondly, Can you please tell more about what do you mean by gifts actually. Aso, it is mostly like a Q & A type of platform so refer the database model of quora here How To Build A Quora Clone Without Code - Bubble

Best regards
Priyanshu goyal
Freelancer bubble.io developer at nocodeify.in

1 Like

Thank you very much @cmarchan

Unfortunately I don’t fully understand what you mean. My apologies!

Are you saying that…

• the Question page comprises 3 data types (question, title and gifts);
  • the “leaderboard” page comprises 2 data types (gift and title); and
  • the “user’s answers” page comprises 4 data types (answer, gift, question and user that answers)?