How to Structure Two Different User Roles + Admin

Hello everyone,

I’m a front-end developer / designer who is new to Bubble. I’m extremely excited by the possibilities it creates for me! I’m creating a simple user role structure for my app and would love to know if I’m headed in the right direction. Several people have posted on the forums about similar setups, but their questions have been different enough that I’m not sure they solve my problem.

I want to have three user roles, one of which is an admin.

The main role is a volunteer. They can manage their own profile and search and join events from a dashboard.

The other role is also a volunteer, but they have clicked on something on the dashboard (like a “become an organization” button) and have requested to represent an organization. This role is then allowed to see an organization dashboard that lets them post on behalf of the organization and manage its profile.

So my main question is – does this seem like a reasonable setup? And would I go about separating these roles via a new “role” field in the user table? I had initially thought to create volunteers and organizations as separate roles altogether, but I’d like for users associated with an organization to also be able to volunteer. Do I need to mess with the “privacy” tab (I honestly don’t quite yet understand the privacy tab)?

Thank you in advance, and I’m excited to join this community!

1 Like

I literally have the same setup with one of my apps. After a ton of confusion, testing, and headaches, here’s the best way to go about this:

Both “Volunteers” and “Organizations” have the abilities of “Volunteers”. This means the User Database Table that Bubble automatically provides should act as the “Volunteers” table.

Now, for “Organizations”, you want to create a separate table. One of the fields in this table will be “User” that has a data type of a User (essentially a volunteer).