Introducing: Build Contests

Hello everyone! For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Sam and I’m a Bubble Developer at Bubble and passionate fan of our product.

I’m really excited to announce our first community build contest! This is something that I’ve been wanting to do since the day that I started working at Bubble - if things go well and we get enough engagement, I’m looking to do these every month across a variety of different categories.

Here are the general details:

• Each contest will last one month. This specific one will run from March 1st - March 31st.
  • There will be a specific set of guidelines each month that define the parameters for the build. Some builds will be small bits of functionality or specific UI components, others will be larger builds more akin to a full app. We’ll try to change it up so that these contests can appeal to a variety of different experience levels and availability constraints.
  • To enter the contest, you can submit a public link to your build anytime during the month by commenting on the forum post.
  • The app for your build must be a new app, created on or after the start date for that months contest (we will check this to keep things fair!)
  • At the end of the month, we’ll pick our favorite app and send the builder some Bubble swag!

Other than that - be creative, and have fun. This is meant to be a really loosely defined structure that allows our community to showcase what they can build.

Here are the details for this month’s contest:
We’re starting simple: our interactive lessons at bubble.io/lessons end with a to-do app. For our first contest, we want to take this to the next level, and see what the community can come up with for project management functionality.

Here are the requirements:

• Ability to create “projects” (you can call them whatever you want)
  • Ability to create to-dos within a project
  • Ability to create “general” to-dos not assigned to a project