Is there a way to copy a database of a user?

Hello,

I’m currently building an application site for my community and I’m trying to make it currently where if someone’s application gets denied that can reapply again in 14 days but I don’t want it to clear their last application and I want admins to be able to view their past applications. With that being said I was wondering if there is a way to copy that user’s data and I can make it show back when I get that setup. I’m still new to Bubble so any help would be appreciated also sorry for any stress I may cause as I still don’t understand somethings with Bubble.

I would like to be able to copy all this information over

Hi there, @brennanlgaming… if you want to keep past applications, I would suggest that you move most of those fields from the User data type into a new data type called Application. If you go that route, you could create a new thing in the Application data type every time a user reapplies, and you could prepopulate the new application with info from the user’s most recent application. You would also have easy access to all of a user’s past applications by searching the Application data type for applications that are associated with that user (or you could store a list of past applications in a field on the User data type).

Any of that make sense? Hope it helps.

Best…
Mike

2 Likes

So I set up the application category I’m a little confused on the rest of the steps you mentioned but I do have this category setup

Well, that was the easy part. :slight_smile:

How much do you know about workflows and conditionals? Without a solid understanding of the basics, it will be difficult to make progress, so I definitely recommend going through Bubble’s tutorials if you haven’t done so already.

That being said, I put together a simple example to try to help you get going. As I mentioned in my initial response, I would likely add a field to the User data type to hold a list of a user’s past applications…