Simple internal page link without required data to send

Hi, I am a newbie. I like Bubble’s power, but also find it overly complex for quite simple features. Here’s what I’d like to do. In the home page, I would like to introduce several sub-sections of my site. One of these subsections consists of a list of Tools, available from the tool_index internal page. Howver, when I try to link to that internal page using a Link from Visual Elements, I keep getting a warning that “Data to send should be a Tool but right now it is a User”. This doesn’t make any sense at all. Only at the tool_index page do I want users to select a tool from the list of tools there. The home page is just an introductory page from which you should be able to click through to the actual content pages. How to do this? Thanks.

1 Like

When one of your pages has a Data type associated with it and you link to it you have to send over data with the same Data type as the linked page.

Have you tried removing the data type in the Tools page being linked?

2 Likes

That defeats the purpose, over there I do need the Tool data type, that’s the essence of that page. I find this “feature” an extremely limiting one, making it much harder to apply Bubble for real-world purposes.

Can you link it? Its difficult to advise without understanding what you’re trying to accomplish

Why does your Tool page need to be Data Type Tool? Setting the page’s data type to a certain Data Type usually means that page or its elements are planning to receive a certain set of the Data Type (thus having to pass some when you’re linking)

1 Like

The “Type of Content” has a very specific role. It has no bearing at all on what your can search for or display on the page. So a page all about tools … doesn’t need a type of “Tool” to work.