Trigger API Workflows with GET Requests

Hello everyone!

My name is Peter, and I am a software engineering intern here at Bubble. Users have asked for the ability to allow API Workflows to be triggered via GET request instead of the usual POST request for a while now. A powerful use case for building logic around a GET request would be in the case of Bubble app listening for a 3rd party (e.g. Facebook) webhook. We’re excited to release this ability today on our experimental flags panel, and it will soon be deployed once it’s well-tested.

For the full documentation on the feature, check it out here: https://manual.bubble.io/core-resources/api/workflow-api

Overview

Today, as a user on a Personal plan or above, when you select the Backend Workflows tab on the top left, your API Workflow looks something like this.

Now, you have the ability to select between GET and POST to trigger your API Workflow, as shown below, using the new “Trigger workflow with” dropdown menu option. When you hover over this option, it’ll take you directly to the documentation.

How to Use It

As you can do today, if you select to trigger the API Workflow with a POST method, you can choose “Manual Definition” or “Detect Request Data” for the parameter definition. Otherwise, if you select to trigger the API Workflow with a GET request, the parameter definition will default to “Manual Definition,” and the field will be hidden. You can still define key-value pairs as normal.

If you are using API workflows via the App Connector, these workflows will automatically be triggered by the proper HTTP request defined in “Trigger workflow with” dropdown.

Backwards Compatibility