As a newbie with no coding experience, what helped accelerate your proficiency the most?

I’m about 4-5 days into the journey. I probably an unusual newbie here with bubble. I’m nearing retirement as a VP at a private equity firm. I started out as a network engineer but never learned to code. I could create basic unix scripts back in the day but never found a framework that didn’t kick my butt with setup issues. But anyway, I always wanted to be able to rapidly create web apps. Maybe bubble isn’t the best platform for that but it seems to be very well thought out. I have 2-3 startup ideas which I think have merit based on evaluating startups well past Series A + B. So I want to dabble in building my own prototypes. Partly too, I believe in starting new activities to keep one’s brain sharp.

Anyway, my question for any and all is what helped you gain proficiency with bubble rapidly? What resources helped you the most? I’ve bought a couple classes on Udemy and I’ve been watching all of Bubble’s videos (pretty good). But I do get stuck sometimes just going through the simple tutorials—the videos sometimes skip the exact place someone clicked to get to a particular area in the editor. I am very intrigued about hiring a coach but who do you recommend and why? Do you recommend any of the templates? Canvas seems cool but I already ran into some weird anamoly that didn’t follow the tutorials/instructions for setup. So kind of frustrating.

Anyway, just wondering if I could create a thread here that other newbies might refer to in the future to gain some rapid progress. Thanks for all replies. Happy also too to discuss my day job if anyone ever has any curiosity about that.

4 Likes

Welcome to Bubble Bmur!

To answer your question, I would say you should check out Bubble’s bootcamps for one. Since they built the platform, I reckon learning from them is the best way to start.