We’re really excited to announce multiple versions, a feature we’ve had in the works for quite a while that we hope will make life significantly easier for a lot of you.
As it stands, a Bubble app has two versions: Development, which you edit, and Live, to which you deploy your finished changes. As apps become large, life can become complicated as Development is shared between multiple people and projects. Having multiple development versions solves this problem: each developer can work on his or her own version, and hotfixes can be segregated from ongoing development.
Versions can be created, merged with one another, deployed to Live, renamed, and deleted. As is currently the case, each will maintain its own history, and will be able to be rolled back to any point in time, either to a specific time or to a defined save point.
When one version is deployed to Live, others will become out of sync with Live, meaning new changes have been made elsewhere that are not yet incorporated. At this point, users of other versions will be prompted to sync with live, a process that will import the new changes into their version. If two changes conflict—for instance, if two users have changed the name of a button to two different values—the user will be prompted to choose which change to keep.
Multiple versions will be available on Production and Dedicated plans. Pricing details can be seen here, and documentation can be found in the manual. As always, let me know if you have any questions!