Shopping Cart with Customizable Products

Hello fellow Bubblers,

I am new to this and I have a problem with retrieving data from the user. In my app, the user goes through a three step process to personalize his/her product. In each step, the user can choose from different options and I want to have a “summary” page at the end so the user can see what he/she chose in each step.

Think of it this way (with an example of ordering a burrito=:

Step one: White or brown rice?
Step two: Chicken or beef?
Step three: Mild or hot Salsa?

In each step the user clicks to create a individualized product and I want to show at the end that the user has, for example, chosen white rice, beef, and mild Salsa.

I tried with “create new thing” with each click but had problems retrieving the data. Can someone please help me out with an explanation?

Thanks so much in advance!!!

1 Like

Hi @anhthi :slight_smile: There are a few ways to do this but if you just had three questions like that, you can store the three answers within the User Data Type. So, in the User Data Type, you could set up three fields: Step One Answer (Type: Text, List: No), Step Two Answer (Type: Text, List: No) and Step Three Answer (Type: Text, List: No). Then after a user has selected their choice in each step (perhaps using a dropdown for each?), you could have a ‘Submit’ button at the end. In the workflow of the submit button you would click Data --> Make Changes to a Thing --> “Thing to Change: Current User”, then you would change the three fields below (Step One Answer, Step Two Answer, Step Three Answer), and the values would correspond to what answers they chose. That could look something like:

Step One Answer = Dropdown 1’s value
Step Two Answer = Dropdown 2’s value
Step Three Answer = Dropdown 3’s value