[SOLVED] Bubble as Zapier action instead of trigger?

This is my first time trying out zapier so this may be a dumb question.
I see that zapier has a schedule tool that i can use to run actions once a day, once a week or once a month. I was thinking i could use it to trigger bubble actions in one of those time frames. I can set up the zapier schedule just fine as the trigger but it wont let me select bubble as an action app, only as a trigger app. Am i doing something wrong? is this not possible? being able to do this would extend the functionality of my app immensely. thanks!

It is possible, but you should do this as a webhook in zapier and use an API workflow in Bubble. It’s a bit tricky to make an action in zapier because fields are different for each workflow, and zapier doesn’t allow that. But a webhook does the job and works great. There are a few posts on the forum about that.

1 Like

Yes, it is certainly possible, but you will need to create your own action in the zapier dev console.

I have an outstanding “todo” to write this up and hopefully create a shareable generic version (I think only URL, API Key and Workflow name will change each time).

@emmanuel - I don’t really understand Webhooks in this context. Are you saying that you don’t need to create an action but can just use something else instead ?

2 Likes

Would really really appreciate a tutorial on receiving stuff into bubble (i.e. a bubble api tutorial that’s easy to understand) and how to link this to zapier and potentially other applications !

1 Like

Will do. Just need to understand the difference between an action and a webhook in Zapier. I have both working, but don’t really understand the user cases for both.

@NigelG
I have been reading up on the basic fundamentals of APIs through Zapier’s learning courses.
Am i understanding correctly that because bubble only supplies a GET and POST, that i cant change or delete data using a PUT or DELETE request?